The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

by Charlotte Reads Classics

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson

I hadn’t expected to finish this book today but I got hooked! The basics are that this crime fiction is gripping and really, really grisly. Its a very violent novel, I learnt today that the Swedish title is Men Who Hate Women… which is very apt, but also not hard to see why our Larsson fix is packaged kind of differently. However, the violence isn’t like american style action films, its more psychological and disturbing on that level, rather than just for the sake of shock value. I like Swedish writing, I was taken aback by how much I like this book, but it isn’t the best I’ve read. There is far too much detail for one thing; I don’t care about what specific computer programme someone is using, or how much RAM their laptop has. But as a sidenote I did enjoy hearing what novels Blomkvist was reading. (English crime… hooray!) But the story kept my attention after the slightly slow start – I would advise people who don’t enjoy the first couple of chapters to stick with it. The pace changes pretty regularly from intriguing build up to page turning madness, which I do like.

Expect reviews of the second book of the trilogy at some point!

