It was a Dark and Stormy Night…

by Charlotte Reads Classics

Dracula, Bram Stoker

In the spirit of Halloween I decided to finally read this classic. I have tried to read it once before, years ago, but I only read about a quarter before giving up. I think you have to vanquish all your preconceptions of vampire myths in popular culture (all those years of watching Buffy for me!) because this is back to basics. I liked how the book is told; through diaries of and letters between the four/five main characters. It feels like an early documentary. And I liked reading the humble beginnings of familiar characters (e.g. Van Helsing).

All in all, a good read, and an interesting one, but you’ve got to be in the mood. I fancy a trip to Whitby soon to see Stoker’s inspiration.

Side note: iPlayer Mark Gatiss’ history of horror if you’ve not watched it yet, its awesome!

