Never Let Me Go

by Charlotte Reads Classics

Never Let Me Go, Kazuo Ishiguro

The more I think about this book, the more of a genius I think Kazuo Ishiguro is. Not my first Ishiguro encounter: I had to read The Remains of the Day at school, and am ashamed to say I hated it. Looking back, I think that was probably more the teenage sensibility and possibly bad teaching, as that novel seems to be about everything I love to read about.

ANYWAY, perhaps unintelligently I didn’t know anything about the plot and assumed it was a typical “english” novel like The Remains of the Day. Which really is, and is very impressive considering Ishiguro is japanese. So I was surprised to come across a novel with no hint of science fiction full of cloning and organ donation. I think that might have put me off. And if you haven’t read Never Let Me Go I’m afraid you’ll have to take my word for it when I say it isn’t full of scientific detail or moral argument about these things. (Although subtly morality does play a significant part.)

Instead, Never Let Me Go is about lost innocence and human connections. Ishiguro creates his own language; the characters have grown up and lived in a very contained environment, and their speech and thoughts reflect this. Whilst sometimes uncomfortable, it is a fascinating read as much for what is not said, as well as what is spoken.

