Everyone’s Reading Room

by Charlotte Reads Classics

Slammerkin, Emma Donoghue

I loved this! Its a little bit like Crimson Petal in that its historical and about prostitutes. This is the first novel I’ve read by Emma Donoghue and would pick up another. She’s a really nice writer and can tell a damn good story! The main character Mary has her ups and downs but I was rooting for her all the way through. The ending held plenty of surprises and I genuinely felt really annoyed when things like work and sleep got in the way of me finishing! This novel really gets you into the eighteenth century, the sounds, the smells… it really does (pardon the cliché) come alive. Plus there is the added intrigue that its based on a real eighteenth century case – but don’t google it before you read because it might give the game away.

