When God was a Rabbit

by Charlotte Reads Classics

When God Was a Rabbit, Sarah Winman

I love love LOVE this book. It is a very refreshing change to read a story about love between a brother and sister rather than a couple.

The story is split into two parts; 1968 and 1995 where the main character is 9 and 36 respectively. The childhood part was sweetly nostalgic, familiar but really captured the whole sense of innocence clashing with growing up. Winman writes this part so elegantly, and so realistically through a child’s eyes. The second part takes some slightly surprising turns, with (if you’ve read nothing about the plot before you start, which is my style) some very unexpected merging fact and fiction.

There is a lot going on in this novel, but it all works. And the characters are fantastic – all of them are interesting and make for some pretty hilarious and heartwarming incidents. They are a wonderful mix of being completely believable but at the same time I couldn’t help thinking thats brilliant, how did she come up with that?!

I wanted to visit the childhood home, I wanted to stay with the family, I wanted to hug the childhood best friend, and now that I’ve finished it, I want more. In short; there is magic, subtlety, everything. Read it read it read it.

