Broad Concepts

by Charlotte Reads Classics

The History of Love, Nicole Krauss

And then I started to think about her. Alma. Who was she? My mother would say she was everyone, every girl and every woman that anyone ever loved.

I did enjoy this, but she is so pretentious! This book was less cryptic than Great House, which is a plus (better plot?), and was very well put together. There isn’t a word that doesn’t seem considered; the result being many sentences beautifully but self consciously put together. I really liked the idea of the book within the book, but I thought what was actually written as part of Leo Gursky’s book sounded awful!

Things I did like:

  • The characters, particularly Alma and Leo. I sympathised with people more than I anticipated and enjoyed the way these strangers became linked together.
  • The general plot: the research, the letters, the lost loves, the families, the identities, the history.
  • Everyone told the story. The many narrators really worked.
  • The way she writes about being Jewish and what it means to different people.

The History of Love speaks universally whilst looking at the tiny parts of life. I just can’t believe Nicole Krauss is a real person.

