September Was Always a Month of Beginnings

by Charlotte Reads Classics

Happy September!

The month I always feel slightly nostalgic for new stationary and start looking forward to the colour of autumn leaves. August as a month of reading got slightly interrupted by life, but with all of the boxes in the new house and the last few pieces of furniture joining them tomorrow, hopefully there will be more time for books in September. At the very least I get to arrange them all and (hopefully) have much more space for some new bookcases.

The best books I read in August were definitely the last two: Some Do Not… by Ford Madox Ford and Fire in the Blood by Irène Némirovsky. Read them both! My September reading plans are:

  • Parade’s End by Ford Madox Ford
  • The Greatcoat by Helen Dunmore
  • Toby’s Room by Pat Barker
  • The Complete Memoirs of George Sherston by Siegfried Sassoon
  • NW by Zadie Smith

The only definite one to be honest is Parade’s End and all the others are (as ever) subject to change! And a mention for October, I’ll be reading some more Dickens, Martin Chuzzlewit specifically, with o. So grand, tempting plans – I’m off to build some bookcases.

