Rebecca

by Charlotte Reads Classics

Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier

‘If only there could be an invention’, I said impulsively, ‘that bottled up a memory, like scent. And it never faded, and it never got stale. And then, when one wanted it, the bottle could be uncorked, and it would be like living the moment all over again.’

I loved this book for the following reasons:

  1. The opening line: “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again…”
  2. Upper class English eccentricity
  3. Manderley: the description of the house, the furniture, the gardens, the views
  4. The importance of a ghostly character
  5. The plot twists (I was a complete Rebecca virgin, I had no idea what was going to happen)
  6. You never find out the main character’s name
  7. The ball and the costumes
  8. The non-slushy love
  9. The sinister housekeeper and how much I disliked her
  10. The way the characters surprised you

Pure enjoyment on this one, reminded me a bit (although I’ve read them chronologically backwards) of Sarah Waters’ The Little Stranger. This is fantastic, definitely a new favourite book.

